This paper was presented at the
National Seminar on
Indian Psychology: Theories and Models

SVYASA, Bangalore,
December 26 - 28, 2007


Value systems during brahmacharaya ashram

Himanshi Rastogi


The Vedas divided the life span into four major stages/ashramas, brahmacharya, grahasta, vanprastha and sanyasa. They gave the normative behaviours and values a person should follow during each of these stages. The paper discusses about the family values and values related to education followed during the brahamcharaya ashram and also how they are missing in the present living and how by imbibing them the present lifestyle might change.

Email the author, Ms. Himanshi Rastogi, at